Digital Health resources, commentary and more...

Australian Digital Health Agency

The ADHA is a Commonwealth Agency that commenced official operations on 1st July , 2016.
The primary aims that have been set are:-
  • Manage and oversee the implementation of Australia’s Digital Health Strategy;
  • Take over from DoH the operation of the MyHealthRecord summary health record system;
  • Take over the IP and ongoing role of NEHTA.

Specific responsibilities as outlined in the 2016-17 budget papers

  • coordinate and provide input into the ongoing development of the National Digital Health Strategy;
  • implement those aspects of the National Digital Health Strategy that are agreed or directed by the Council of Australian Governments (COAG) Health Council;
  • develop, implement, manage, operate, continuously innovate and iteratively improve specifications, standards, systems and services in relation to digital health, consistent with the National Digital Health Work Program;
  • develop, implement and operate comprehensive and effective clinical governance, using a whole of system approach, to ensure clinical safety in the delivery of the National Digital Health Work Program;
  • develop, monitor and manage specifications and standards to maximise effective operation between public and private sector digital healthcare systems;
  • develop and implement compliance approaches in relation to the adoption of agreed specifications and standards relating to digital health; and
  • liaise and cooperate with overseas and international bodies on matters relating to digital health.

The Agency comprises 5 divisions:-
  • Innovation and Development ( Head: ?? )
  • Core Services Systems Operations ( Head: Mr Ronan O'Connor, from early 2017 )
  • Clinical and Consumer Engagement & Clinical Governance ( Head: Dr Monica Trujillo )
  • Government and Industry Collaboration and Adoption ( Head: Ms Bettina McMahon )
  • Organisational Capability and Change Management ( Head: Mr Terence Seymour )

In November 2016, Associate Professor Meredith Makeham joined the Executive Team, in the role of Chief Medical Advisor

The Agency received initial funding for 2016-17 of $156.5million, predominantly from the Commonwealth Government. The ADHA has offices in Brisbane, Sydney and Canberra. It’s Australian Business Number (ABN) is 84 425 496 912.


The Agency reports to COAG’s Health Council and is governed by a Board, comprising:-
  • Mr Jim Birch AM (Chair)
  • Mr Rob Bransby
  • Dr Eleanor Chew
  • Dr Elizabeth Deveny
  • Mr Martin Bowles PSM (replacing Paul Madden, April? 2017) VACANT @ June 2018
  • Ms Lyn McGrath
  • Mr Stephen Moo VACANT @ June 2018
  • Ms Stephanie Newell
  • Dr Bennie Ng
  • Mr Michael Walsh VACANT @ June 2018
  • Prof Johanna Westbrook

Health Minister Ley’s media statement announcing the Board can be found here .
The ADHA Establishment Legislation became effective from January 29, 2016.

In August 2016, Minister for Health, Sussan Ley, announced the appointment of Mr Tim Kelsey as the Chief Executive Officer.

The Agency’s website is

Advisory Committees

To support the Board in carrying out its functions, the following four standing advisory committees have been established under the Public Governance, Performance and Accountability (Establishing the Australian Digital Health Agency) Rule 2016:
  • the Clinical and Technical Advisory Committee;
  • the Jurisdictional Advisory Committee;
  • the Consumer Advisory Committee; and
  • the Privacy and Security Advisory Committee.